On the occasion of the first International Conference on Noncovalent Interactions (ICNI 2019) which was held in Lisbon in 2019, its International Advisory Board (IAB) has formally agreed on a proposal, from the Chairs of the Conference, for the establishment of a prize, named the van der Waals Prize, to distinguish scientists of high scientific merit who have contributed in an outstanding way to the development of the field of Noncovalent Interactions in Science. The van der Waals Prize was already awarded for the first time on the occasion of the 1st ICNI (2019) to Prof. Pavel Hobza.

At ICNI 2019, the IAB members further agreed that this Prize should distinguish a young (not older than 45 years) and a senior scientist in alternating years.

Accordingly, the van der Waals Prize for a young scientist has been awarded in 2020 to Prof. Alexander Tkatchenko, and the van der Waals Prize for a senior scientist has been awarded in 2021 to Prof. Giuseppe Resnati.

Both these distinctions will be presented to the awardees (the young and the senior one) during the second ICNI to be held in Strasbourg.